top of page

Good to Gose


Good to Gose - 4.5% ABV

Terrapin Beer Co. (Athens, Georgia)

Gose

IBU: 7

What I say:

This is exactly what you might expect from a basic gose, although it doesn't have the saltiness that some goses, like Westbrook Brewing Co.'s Gose or Creature Comfort's Cucumber Lime Titrona have. Tart, light and refreshing. It's a solid golden color with no head and very little carbonation. It's all bubbly at the top from the time you pour to only about 20 seconds after that, more like a soda than a heady beer.

The can said it was brewed with a pinch of sea salt, coriander and grapefruit peel. While I like the overall flavor, none of those flavors really stand out to me. It's citrusy, but does not have the strong, slightly bitter flavor I would normally expect out of a grapefruit beer. I also don't think I would ever be able to identify coriander, though, so that might just be me.

A benefit I'd see from this beer is it's not likely to hurt your teeth if you crush a six-pack by yourself. (No one else? Is that just me?) Meaning it doesn't leave the weird residue that extremely tart beers can sometimes cause on your teeth, thereby convincing you to only drink one or two no matter how low the IBU is.

I'd definitely bring a six-pack of this to the pool or beach, but I won't say it's my favorite gose.

Overall rating: 4/5

What others say:

I couldn't find much, other than a lot of 4+ star ratings on Untappd, so I'll just skip this for now. Instead, how about you let me know what you think in the comments below?

Want more straight from the brewery? Go here.

bottom of page