top of page

Twist

Twist - 5.8% ABV

Prairie Artisan Ales

Dry-Hopped Farmhouse Ale

Twist beer can next to glass

Twist is one of the many beers that initially caught my eye with its funky can art, and then it benefitted additionally from the fact that I was in my "must try all the saisons/ farmhouse ales" phase following my North Carolina trip.

This beer is a really sudsy pour and has a hazy, bright straw color. I got a little too enthusiastic and saw the head rise about a centimeter above the rim of my glass, but thankfully it calmed down before anything spilled.

The nose is super fruity, which isn't what I expected from this beer. I was thinking I'd get something a lot earthier, probably a little grassy, from a farmhouse ale. Instead, it's sweet and smells like a freshly opened package of peach rings candy. The taste, however, is more along the lines of what I expected.

Twist is a super dry beer with a green, grassy hit on the middle of your tongue. It's a really bright beer, and it finishes cleanly. There's a mild tartness to it, and while it doesn't come across as hoppy, I think the hops factor in a little more through the dryness of the beer.

It was dry hopped with Citra hops, and while you don't get a peach rings flavor, there's a sweet citrusy undercurrent that comes through on larger sips. It's as if taking a bigger gulp is necessary to override the dryness and bring in that sweet flavor.

I grabbed this beer in a build-your-own six pack several weeks ago, and I'm disappointed that I didn't get more. If you're looking for a mild saison, without too much of that wet hay flavor (maybe you're transitioning from a love of pale ales or IPAs?), I'd recommend a little Twist (and shout!).

Overall rating: 4/5

bottom of page