top of page

Triangles


Triangles - 4.8% ABV

Garage Beer Go (Barcelona, Spain)

Session IPA

Triangles is the final Barcelona beer in my fridge. I brought back more than two, but enjoyed them at times where I wasn't taking notes sufficient for posts. Maybe I'll do a round-up later on, if people are interested?

Triangles pours a nice, cloudy golden yellow with a little bit of head that dissipates quickly. It has a citrusy nose, but the scent is more subtle than Soup IPA. That being said, on first sip, I'm surprised to find that this beer has more flavor to it than the Soup IPA I picked up from Garage.

Since there's not a big aroma to this beer, I expected the flavor to be toned down as well. Instead, the first thing that hits you is a tropical hop flavor and a fuller body than Soup had.

On a small sip, you get a taste that's similar to a New England IPA — a hop flavor on the front end, with a creamier mouthfeel and smooth finish. Larger sips bring home even more hops but the same smooth mouthfeel.

My main issue with this guy is that it is called a session IPA, when I'd just say it's a low ABV NEIPA. It's loaded down with Mosaic hops, which I've seen as a favorite in local hazy IPAs, and it's got that cloudy look and smooth mouthfeel I expect in an NEIPA. Session IPAs tend to hit me as really clean, less malty IPAs that finish super crisp and have a mild hoppiness, but this beer doesn't quite check all those boxes.

That being said, I'm not mad at this beer. It's very tasty and less disappointing than the Soup IPA, and I'd definitely drink it again.

Overall rating: 3.75/5

bottom of page